Book Recommendation, Book Review, Fiction, Review, Young Adult

Book Recommendation: ‘Life Unaware’, by Cole Gibsen

Happy Sunday! As you ready yourself for another great week, are you wondering what book to take along with you on your commute? Take a peek at this week’s recommended commute companion! ‘Life Unaware’, by Cole Gibsen Review here. Purchase here. Author website here. Synopsis: Regan Flay has been talking about you. Regan Flay is… Read More Book Recommendation: ‘Life Unaware’, by Cole Gibsen

Book Review, Fiction, Review, Young Adult

Book Review: ‘Sovereignty’, by Anjenique Hugues

About The Author With master’s degrees in education, special education, and counseling, Anjenique “Jen” Hughes is a high school English and math teacher who loves teaching and mentoring young people. She enjoys traveling and has worked with youth on five continents. Saying she is “young at heart” is an understatement; she is fluent in sarcasm,… Read More Book Review: ‘Sovereignty’, by Anjenique Hugues

Book Recommendation, Fiction, Young Adult

Book Recommendation: ‘Dear Opl’, by Shelley Sackier

Happy Sunday! As you ready yourself for another great week, are you wondering what to take along with you on your commute? Take a peek at this week’s recommended commute companion! ‘Dear Opl’, by Shelley Sackier Review here. Purchase here. Author website here. Synopsis: ‘ There are three things Opl never expected to do during… Read More Book Recommendation: ‘Dear Opl’, by Shelley Sackier

Book Review, Books, Fiction, Review, Science Fiction, Thriller, Young Adult

Book Review: ‘Ghost Hope’, by Ripley Patton

Review of Previous Volumes in the series Review of Ghost Hand. Review of Ghost Hold.Review of Ghost Heart. About the Author Ripley Patton lives in Portland, Oregon with one cat, two teenagers, and a man who wants to live on a boat. She is an award-winning short story writer and author of The PSS Chronicles,… Read More Book Review: ‘Ghost Hope’, by Ripley Patton

Book Review, Fiction, Middle Grade, Review, Young Adult

Book Review: ‘Trish’s Team’, by Dawn Brotherton

About the author: Dawn (Parker) Brotherton began as a Missile Launch Officer in the US Air Force and continues to serve at the Pentagon in Washington DC.  Her 26+ years of service have given her a variety of experiences to pull from.  She has been stationed at many stateside bases as well as the Republic… Read More Book Review: ‘Trish’s Team’, by Dawn Brotherton

Book Review, Fiction, Review, Young Adult

Book Review: ‘On Edge’, by Gin Price

About the author: Using knowledge learned from her childhood environment, Gin Price’s writing is often steeped in street life, whether good or bad. Hoping to show support for art that is often misunderstood, she published her debut novel, On Edge, focusing on graffiti and parkour, two expressions dear to her heart.  Currently, she is a… Read More Book Review: ‘On Edge’, by Gin Price

Book Review, Fantasy, Fiction, Review, Young Adult

Book Review: ‘The War of Words’, by Amy Neftzger {and Giveaway!}

About the author Amy Neftzger is the author of fiction books for both adults and children.  She has also been published in business and academic journals, as well as literary publications. A few of her favorite things include traveling, books, movies, art, the Oxford comma, and gargoyles. About the book Sometimes there’s no better way… Read More Book Review: ‘The War of Words’, by Amy Neftzger {and Giveaway!}

Book Review, Drama, Fiction, Young Adult

Book Review: ‘The Good Sister’, by Jamie Kain

In the tradition of Jodi Picoult, Jamie Kain’s The Good Sister begins with pieces of a story that are brought together with increasing momentum and culminates into a poignant ending. A previously perfect-from-the-outside family unit of five – Sarah, Rachel, Asha, and their parents – starts breaking apart after Sarah’s cancer diagnosis. With an absent… Read More Book Review: ‘The Good Sister’, by Jamie Kain

Book Review, Books, Fantasy, Fiction, Middle Grade, Review, Young Adult

Book Review: ‘Fairy Tale Reform School: Charmed’, by Jen Calonita

About the author: It’s no secret how Jen Calonita knows the inside scoop on Hollywood. A former entertainment editor at a teen magazine, Jen started out her career chronicling backstage life at concerts with Justin Timberlake and interviewing Zac Efron on film sets. It was her work in the entertainment world that inspired her first… Read More Book Review: ‘Fairy Tale Reform School: Charmed’, by Jen Calonita

Book Review, Books, Comedy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Review, Thriller, Women's Fiction, Young Adult

Winter Reading: Book Review Round-Up

Each Saturday of the month, this space is given to someone else whose content overlaps mine, be it Borna’s Monthly Book Review, Maeve’s Monthly Movie Review, or a X-Files review courtesy of The M0vie Blog or Apt. 42. But once in awhile a month comes by featuring a fifth Saturday, leaving me wondering what in… Read More Winter Reading: Book Review Round-Up