Book Review, Fantasy, Fiction, Review, Young Adult

Book Review: ‘The War of Words’, by Amy Neftzger {and Giveaway!}

About the author Amy Neftzger is the author of fiction books for both adults and children.  She has also been published in business and academic journals, as well as literary publications. A few of her favorite things include traveling, books, movies, art, the Oxford comma, and gargoyles. About the book Sometimes there’s no better way… Read More Book Review: ‘The War of Words’, by Amy Neftzger {and Giveaway!}

Book Review, Drama, Fiction, Young Adult

Book Review: ‘The Good Sister’, by Jamie Kain

In the tradition of Jodi Picoult, Jamie Kain’s The Good Sister begins with pieces of a story that are brought together with increasing momentum and culminates into a poignant ending. A previously perfect-from-the-outside family unit of five – Sarah, Rachel, Asha, and their parents – starts breaking apart after Sarah’s cancer diagnosis. With an absent… Read More Book Review: ‘The Good Sister’, by Jamie Kain

Book Review, Books, Fantasy, Fiction, Middle Grade, Review, Young Adult

Book Review: ‘Fairy Tale Reform School: Charmed’, by Jen Calonita

About the author: It’s no secret how Jen Calonita knows the inside scoop on Hollywood. A former entertainment editor at a teen magazine, Jen started out her career chronicling backstage life at concerts with Justin Timberlake and interviewing Zac Efron on film sets. It was her work in the entertainment world that inspired her first… Read More Book Review: ‘Fairy Tale Reform School: Charmed’, by Jen Calonita

Book Review, Books, Comedy, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Review, Thriller, Women's Fiction, Young Adult

Winter Reading: Book Review Round-Up

Each Saturday of the month, this space is given to someone else whose content overlaps mine, be it Borna’s Monthly Book Review, Maeve’s Monthly Movie Review, or a X-Files review courtesy of The M0vie Blog or Apt. 42. But once in awhile a month comes by featuring a fifth Saturday, leaving me wondering what in… Read More Winter Reading: Book Review Round-Up

Book Review, Fantasy, Fiction, Review, Young Adult

Book Review: ‘At the Sharp End of Lightning’, by N. R. Bates

About the author: NR Bates was born in London, grew up in Wales, and lived in Canada and Bermuda. He shares his life with his wife and his house with seven cats, one dog and the subtropical wildlife of lizards, wolf spiders and ant colonies that seek out a better life indoors. He is an… Read More Book Review: ‘At the Sharp End of Lightning’, by N. R. Bates

Book Recommendation, Book Review, Fiction, Review, Young Adult

Book Recommendation: ‘Illumine Her’, by Sieni A.M.

Happy Sunday! As you ready yourself for another great week, are you wondering what book to take along with you on your commute? Take a peek at this week’s recommended commute companion! Book Recommendation: ‘Illumine Her’, by Sieni A.M Review here. Purchase here. Author website here. Synopsis: After being away for three years and graduating… Read More Book Recommendation: ‘Illumine Her’, by Sieni A.M.

Book Review, Fiction, Middle Grade, Review, Young Adult

Holiday Reading: Tween and Teen Book Review Round-Up

A writer is often an avid reader; sometimes I pick books that I want to read, sometimes I pick books that I should read. These are often books in the genre that I am myself working on at the moment. It will come as no surprise then that, as I work on the second volume… Read More Holiday Reading: Tween and Teen Book Review Round-Up

Book Review, Fiction, Review, Young Adult

Book Review: ‘Spelled’, by Betsy Schow (YA Book)

About the author: Betsy Schow is the Today Show featured author of the non-fiction book, Finished Being Fat; however she’s been mixing up real life and fantasy for as long as she can remember.   If someone were to ask about her rundown truck, she’s 100% positive that mechanical gremlins muck up her engine. And the… Read More Book Review: ‘Spelled’, by Betsy Schow (YA Book)

Book Recommendation, Book Review, Fiction, Review, Young Adult

Book Recommendation: ‘Ghost Heart’, by Ripley Patton

Happy Sunday! As you ready yourself for another great week, are you wondering what book to take along with you on your commute? Take a peek at this week’s recommended commute companion! ‘Ghost Heart’, by Ripley Patton Review here. Purchase here. Author website here. Synopsis: In the aftermath of a brutal tragedy, Jason and Passion… Read More Book Recommendation: ‘Ghost Heart’, by Ripley Patton

Book Recommendation, Book Review, Fiction, Young Adult

Book Recommendation: ‘The Good Sister’, by Jamie Kain

Happy Sunday! As you ready yourself for another great week, are you wondering what book to take along with you on your commute? Take a peek at this week’s recommended commute companion! ‘The Good Sister’, by Jamie Kain Review here. Purchase here. Author website here. Synopsis: The Kinsey sisters live in an unconventional world. Their… Read More Book Recommendation: ‘The Good Sister’, by Jamie Kain