Aspects of Baha’i Personal and Community Life: Reading Order

5.00 avg. rating (99% score) - 1 vote

As of October 2023, there are give books in this series.

In what order should we read the books?

It really depends on your child, so instead of giving rigid guidelines, here is some information about each book so you can assess what’s best for you.

Starr and Her Family Host A Feast is very factual based, with little to no concepts discussed in the book. Starr comes home from school, changes into her nice clothes, has dinner, prepares the house, welcomes people at Feast, etc. — all the tasks associated with Feast. It is also the lightest book with regards to amount of text. This makes it a perfect book for very young kids, as young as 3. It also is useful for older kids who are learning to read (so between 6 and 8, depending on reading level) and would like to know more about what hosting a Feast can look like.

Rani Consults with her Local Spiritual Assembly is also very fact based. Rani, who is five, wants to have a group like her brother’s JY group, so she meets with the Local Spiritual Assembly to make this happen. There are concepts about consultation and Baha’i administration included in the story, but they are very easy to grasp. This book is meant as a way to introduce the idea of the Assembly as a parent we can turn to. Children as young as 4 have enjoyed this book; it is quite useful for children between the ages of 6 and 9, especially to encourage them to consider turning to their Assembly for support in their activities and start developing their life-long relationship with Baha’i administration.

Nuala Says Her Prayers is by far the most popular book in the series and the one that parents have told me, again and again, has transformed their child’s relationship with prayer (and made bedtime easier, hurrah!) Nuala is getting ready for bed, and while she goes through her routine, she and her father have a conversation about prayers. It’s conceptually a little heavier than Rani Consults with her Local Spiritual Assembly, but because children are exposed to prayers more than they are exposed to the Assembly, they seem to connect with this book more.

Ushkat’s Mushum Dies (mushum means grandfather in Cree) is conceptually heavier than the three abovementioned books, but the imagery in the Writings, used in this book, makes it relatively easy to understand. Ushkat’s grandfather has died; after the funeral, once friends and family have left, Ushkat and her Mom start cleaning out mushum’s room. Ushkat’s mom is (conveniently…) pregnant, which helps develop an understanding that death is relative; death in this world is birth in the other world. I have received feedback from readers who purchased this book to help kids as young as 4 understand life after death after the passing of their parents, grandparents, other family members, and friends, and everyone said that children aged 4 to 11 absorb the concepts in this book easily.

Luciana’s Parents Are Fasting is by far the heaviest book in terms of concepts and amount of text. It ties in some of the concepts discussed in the other books in the series, especially prayer. Kids as young as 4 have enjoyed the book, but it’s more useful to kids between the ages of 6 and 12. It’s worded in a way to encourage children and their parents to have their own conversations about the Fast.

I hope this helps you make the best decision for your children. Please let me know how the books are received by your children, so that I can update this as needed.

5.00 avg. rating (99% score) - 1 vote